A Shrouded Wave

Tumultuous waves crash and rumble in my mind. Breaking apart thoughts, clouding them all.

The light is dim, like a candle burning the last of its wick; the flame flickering, knowing at any moment it will be gone.

The shadows draw near, dancing to their eerie tune.  Their black shapes coming together to form a thick, solid blanket that is slowly tightening around me.  It is squeezing me, tight yet somehow safe.

The waves are breaking all around, the sound becoming deafening, the black shroud restricting further.

The light suddenly goes, the candle has finished.  I now can not tell where I finish and the black shroud begins.

The waves have taken over, I can see no escape except to accept the blackness.

These waves can take me now.

Leave a Reply

